Sunday, March 26, 2023

Monica Malith, UNSA President 23/24 taking oath of office
on Sat Mar 25, 2023 

Monica Malith, a 3rd year, Faculty of Law International student is the University of Nairobi Students’ Association President 2023-2024. The results were announced on Saturday, March 25, 2023 after a successful voting exercise by the students online through the e-ballot on Friday for the Faculty and Campus Students Association teams followed by 39 electoral voters from all the 13 electoral colleges voting in the Students’ Council.

Team Malith won with the highest number of votes 25, Team Gonda got 8 votes and Team Soi came third with 6 votes.

A short and intensive electoral period are some of the adjectives that can be used to describe the electoral process at the University of Nairobi through out the month of March. 4 out of the 13 teams that were sworn will be chaired by female students.

During the swearing-in ceremony, speaker after speaker congratulated the teams that won and congratulated the whole UoN students body for peaceful elections. On his part, the Chair of the UNSA Independent Electoral Commission, Prof. Collins Odote highlighted the achievements and growth of the UNSA students elections, he exclaimed, ‘In this year’s elections we have 10 International students representatives and 9 PWD representatives within the teams that have been voted in.’ He also announced that there was an increase of 10% voter turnout overall and independent observer, E-Log Kenya.  

Prof. Odote also mentioned the challenges of tight timelines to accomplish a lot of activities and the challenge of students voter register.  

While receiving the Students’ Council, the Vice Chancellor, Prof. Stephen Kiama congratulated the commission and expressed his belief in the successful electoral process. He commended the University community in its mark of evolution in choosing student leaders based on issues. He especially mentioned his pride in the students’ level of growth and how they expressed themselves during the UNSA Debate.

Jubilation could be heard end of day Friday when the Returning officers announced results across most of the Faculties and campuses. In this year’s elections, Kisumu Campus (Team Nyawade), Mombasa Campus (Team Restoration), Faculty of Agriculture (Team Pabloh) and Faculty of Law (Team Opande) are the electoral colleges that did not have elections because the teams that were cleared were unopposed. This is a small number compared to last year’s elections.

Team Principles were declared winners in the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, Team Genesis from the Faculty of Built Environment, Team Kokombo, Faculty of Business and Management Science, Team Shinners from the Faculty of Education, Team Magic from the Faculty of Engineering, Team Ramesh from the Faculty of Health Sciences, Team Mueni J from the Faculty of Science and Technology, Team Wezesha from the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine and Team Richard-Rono from the Kenya Science Campus.

The Faculty Deans were present to receive their Faculty teams that won and presented them to the Vice-Chancellor.

Watch the swearing-in Ceremony here

Faculty and Campus teams 

Student Council